



PRESS RELEASE

Communication Division

PACE 003 (2018)

Václav Havel Human Rights Prize 2018: call for nominations

Strasbourg, 15.01.2018 – The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE), in partnership with the <u>Vaclav Havel Library</u> and the <u>Charta 77 Foundation</u>, has today issued a call for nominations for the 2018 Václav Havel Human Rights Prize.

The Prize, created in 2013, aims to reward outstanding civil society action in defending human rights in Europe and beyond. Candidates should have made a real difference to the human rights situation of a given group, been instrumental in uncovering large-scale systemic violations, or have successfully mobilised public opinion or the international community for a cause.

The Václav Havel Human Rights Prize, which will be awarded on 8 October 2018 in Strasbourg, consists of a sum of €60,000, a trophy and a diploma.

Since 2013, it was awarded successively to Ales Bialiatski (Belarus), Anar Mammadli (Azerbaijan), Ludmilla Alexeeva (Russian Federation), Nadia Murad (Iraq), and last year to Murat Arslan (Turkey), in detention, former Rapporteur of the Constitutional Court and President of the now dissolved Association for the Union of Judges and Prosecutors (YARSAV).

The deadline for submitting nominations is **30 April 2018**. Nominations should be sent to the Parliamentary Assembly by e-mail to the following address: https://hrtprize.pace@coe.int, using the form available on the Prize website. They should be signed by at least five sponsors and submitted in either English or French.

ite

<u>Václav Havel Human Rights Prize website</u> <u>Video</u>

For further information, please contact:

- PACE: Angela Garabagiu, tel. +33 3 90 21 45 20, angela.qarabagiu@coe.int
- Václav Havel Library: Radka Prošková, tel. +420 222 220 112, radka.proskova@vaclavhavel-library.org
- Charta 77 Foundation: Gabriela Švagrová, tel. +420 224 214 452, gabriela.svagrova@bariery.cz

Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe Avenue de l'Europe F-67075 Strasbourg Cedex - Tel. +33 (0)3 88 41 31 93

assembly.coe.int | pace.com@coe.int | **Twitter | **Plickr

The Assembly brings together 324 members from the national parliaments of the 47 member states. President: Stella Kyriakides (Cyprus, EPP/CD) - Secretary General of the Assembly: Wojciech Sawicki. Political groups: EPP/CD (Group of the European People's Party); SOC (Socialists, Democrats and Greens Group); EC (European Conservatives Group); ALDE (Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe); UEL (Group of the Unified European Left); FDG (Free Democrats Group).